Changes in the College’s Advisory Board

The Campanile, UC Berkeley

The Advisory Board fills a tremendously important function for the College both as mentors and as liaisons into the business world. We are grateful to all of these members for their service and support.

The following alumni, and friends of the College, joined the Advisory Board in 2018:

SHIH HUNG CHAN, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Fuel Cell Center/ Department of Mechanical Engineering, Yuan Ze University

RUBBER CHEN, B.S., CEO, Pioneer Material Precision Tech (PMP Tech) MARGARET CHU-MOYER, B.S., Executive Director, Amgen Inc.

ZHIPING (PHILLIP) CUI, MBA, Vice President and General Manager of VC Investment Department, Shanghai Fosun Pharmaceutical (Group) Co., Ltd TED HOU, Ph.D., CEO, NEEM Scientific; General Partner, Berkeley Catalyst Fund CYNTHIA MURPHY-ORTEGA, B.S., Manager, University Partnerships & Association Relations, Chevron Corporation

ELLIE YI-LI YIEH, B.S., Vice President & General Manager, Applied Materials, Inc.

We also wish to extend our sincere thanks to the following Advisory Board members who stepped down: JAMES FOSTER, B.S., EVP Product Supply, Enterprise Performance & IT at The Clorox Company, JAMES TRAINHAM, Ph.D., CTO of JDC Phosphate., TERRY ROSEN, Ph.D., CEO, Arcus Biosciences, has moved into a new adviser role as the first Special Adviser to the Dean.

More information is available about the advisory board at:

Changes in College leadership

Dean Douglas Clark recently announced changes in College leadership. Professor MATT FRANCIS will serve as Department Chair in Chemistry effective July 1, 2018. Francis has most recently served as the College of Chemistry Executive Associate Dean, functioning as the chief operations officer, and previously as vice-chair of the Synthetic Graduate Program in the Chemistry Department.

DAVE WEMMER will be stepping down after four years of exemplary service as Chemistry Chair. Under Wemmer’s steady leadership, the Department has hired exceptional assistant professors, successfully retained faculty, and worked collaboratively with colleagues and administrators to maintain the department’s reputation as the top graduate program in the country, if not the world.

Clark also announced that Chemistry Professor RICHMOND SARPONG will step into the role of executive associate dean in the College of Chemistry, effective July 1, 2018. Sarpong currently serves as vice-chair of the Synthetic Graduate Program in the Chemistry Department. As executive associate dean, he will oversee the internal operations and infrastructure of the College and will also serve as director of Research Facilities.